1Q84 – Haruki Murakami

I promise I’ve been reading these past two weeks! The book was just HUGE. Like, really big.

Background

After reading Moshi Moshi by Banana Yoshimoto few weeks ago, I picked up the itch to read another Murakami. A stroll down the “M” aisle at the library led me to this monster (but seriously. I think the page count for this bad-boy was at least 920 pages). I’m so glad I picked it up.

Quick Thoughts

I know I’m a bit late on the whole 1Q84 bandwagon, but holy smokes. One reviewer on the back-cover (don’t remember who and the book has already been returned) stated, “Murakmi is a genius.” And I have to agree. This book is an inconceivable blend of science-fiction, thriller, mystery, and romance. And probably some other things, too. I couldn’t put it down. And I really had no clue how the story was going to end until I had about 15 pages remaining.

Recommendation

Don’t let the length scare you (though it is a brick). I can easily see someone paging through this thing for a month and still feeling the same eagerness to start reading again each time you pick it up. Not plagairizing; just agreeing: Murakami is a genius.

I can’t even make my normal bullet-point list. Just read it. That’s my recommendation for this one.

1q84_jacket

Leave a Reply

